STATE OF MINNESOTA IN SUPREME COURT

C2-87-1089

ORDER ESTABLISHING
MINNESOTA TASK FORCE FOR
GENDER FAIRNESS IN THE COURTS

WHEREAS, recent scholarly investigations in local communities and states of this nation have revealed a pattern of different and unequal treatment of men and women in American legal and judicial systems; and

WHEREAS, such studies have demonstrated that gender based myths, biases and stereotypes operate in the application, interpretation and enforcement of numerous areas of the law; and

WHEREAS, the Minnesota Judiciary is committed to assuring the equal treatment under law of all Minnesota citizens;

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the Minnesota Task Force for Gender Fairness in the Courts be, and hereby is, established to:

- 1. Explore the extent to which gender bias exists in the Minnesota State Court System, by ascertaining whether statutes, rules, practices or conduct work unfairness or undue hardship on women or men in our courts;
- 2. Document where found the existence of discriminatory treatment of women or men litigants, witnesses, jurors, and of women judicial, legal, and court personnel;
- 3. Recommend methods to eliminate gender bias in the courts including the development and provision of necessary judicial education, the passage of legislation and the promulgation of court rule and policy revisions;
- 4. Report the findings of its investigation to this Court by June 30, 1989; and
- 5. Monitor, thereafter, the implementation of approved reform measures and evaluate their effectiveness in assuring gender fairness in our courts' processes.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the following persons be, and hereby are, appointed as members of the Minnesota Task Force on Gender Fairness in the Courts:

Hon. Rosalie E. Wahl Minnesota Supreme Court 230 State Capitol St. Paul, MN 55455

Hon. Harriet Lansing Court of Appeals 1300 Amhoist Tower St. Paul, MN 55101

Hon. James E. Preece District Court Judge P.O. Box 1008 Bemidji, MN 56601

Hon. George I. Harrelson County Court Judge Lyon County Courthouse Marshall, MN 56258

Hon. Jan Symchych United States District Court, Federal Building 316 North Robert Street St. Paul, MN. 55101

Hon. Jack J. Litman
District Court Judge
St. Louis County Courthouse
Virginia, MN 55792

Hon. Mary Winter Fourth Judicial District Government Center Minneapolis, MN 55487

Hon. Jonathan Lebedoff District Court Judge 12-C Government Center Minneapolis, MN 55487

Alexander M. Keith P.O. Box 549 Rochester, MN 55903 Hon. Susanne C. Sedgwick Court of Appeals 1300 Amhoist Tower St. Paul, MN 55101

Hon. Bertrand Poritsky District Court Judge 1551 Ramsey County Courthouse St. Paul, MN 55102

Hon. John C. Lindstrom District Court Judge P.O. Box 1337 Willmar, MN 56201

Hon. LaJune Thomas Lange District Court Judge 8-C Government Center Minneapolis, MN 55487

Hon. John E. Valen Judge of District Court Morrison County Courthouse Little Falls, MN 56345

Hon. Bruce R. Douglas District Court Judge P.O. Box 207 Buffalo, MN 55313

Hon. Gerard Ring District Court Judge Olmsted County Courthouse Rochester, MN 55901

Hon. Gaylord Saetre Rural Route # 2 Box 383 Perham, MN 56573

Laura Miles 3790 Northome Road Deephaven, MN Ann R. Huntrods 332 Minnesota Street # 2200 St. Paul, MN 55101

Thomas Tinkham 220 S. Sixth Street #2200 Minneapolis, MN. 55402

Cathy Gorlin 80 So. Eighth St. # 3500, Minneapolis, MN 55402 Sue Dosal State Court Administrator 230 State Capitol St. Paul, MN 55155

Ann L. Carrott Douglas County Courthouse Alexandria, MN 56308 Laura Cooper University of Minnesota Law School Minneapolis, MN

Martin Costello 101 Fifth Street E. # 2100 St. Paul, MN 55101

Ember Reichgott 7701 48th ve. North New Hope, MN 55428

Aviva Breen
Executive Director,
Commission on Economic
Status of Women
State Office Building - Room 85
St. Paul, MN 55155

Barbara Nelson Humphrey Institute 301 19th Avenue South Minneapolis, MN 55455

Joan Higginbotham Minnesota League of Women Voters 555 N. Wabasha Street St. Paul, MN 55101 Jan Smaby President, Spring Hill Conference Center P.O. Box 288 Wayzata, MN 55391

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the Honorable Rosalie E. Wahl be, and hereby is, designated as Chairperson and that the Honorable Susanne C. Sedgwick be, and hereby is, designated as Vice-Chairperson.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Dr. Norma J. Wikler be, and hereby is, appointed as Task Force Consultant and that Marsha A. Freeman, be, and hereby is, designated as Task Force Reporter.

DATED: June <u>8</u>, 1987

BY THE COURT

OFFICE OF APPELLATE COURTS FILED

JUN 8 1987

Douglas K. Amdahl Chief Justice

WAYNE TSCHIMPERLE CLERK

-3-